Stay Local, Stay Protected

Our proven attorneys have over 40 years of combined experience.

What are the penalties for possession of marijuana in PA?

State marijuana laws these days seem to be ever-changing, with more and more states either decriminalizing it or, at the very least, legalizing it for medicinal purposes. Pennsylvania is just one of many states that has reviewed several bills proposing to amend state marijuana laws in recent years, so where does it stand now? Is the possession and use of marijuana legal in the Keystone State? FindLaw explores Pennsylvania’s marijuana laws more in depth.

Though most states still outlaw the trafficking, sale and cultivation of marijuana, many have decriminalized its use. Though states that permit recreational use of the controlled substance are still in the minority, nearly half of all states allow the medicinal use of the drug. That said, Pennsylvania is one of a few states that remains stanchly against legalizing cannabis for either recreational or medicinal purposes. Polls show that many of the state’s residents support legalizing it for medicinal purposes, but until a bill passes legalizing its use, possession of marijuana in Pennsylvania continues to remain a crime.

As of right now, the possession of less than 30 grams of cannabis in PA is a misdemeanor crime. If a court convicts you of possession, you face up to 30 days in county jail and may have to pay up to $500 in fines. If you had more than 30 grams of the drug in your possession at the time of arrest, the state may charge you with a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor conviction of this nature may result in a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of no more than $5,000. If the state convicts you of a subsequent offense of over 30 grams, you face up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.

This article is for educational purposes only. It is not meant to be used as legal advice.