Stay Local, Stay Protected

Our proven attorneys have over 40 years of combined experience.

What happens if I am arrested on a marijuana charge?

Under Pennsylvania law, marijuana is a schedule I drug. This means that Pennsylvania considers marijuana to be an addictive substance with no known medicinal properties. While many Americans may disagree with Pennsylvania’s code, this is what the law states. After a marijuana arrest, you may wonder what this means as far as penalties are concerned. Fortunately, the law makes the consequences very clear. The following is what you may have to face.

The Crimes Code provides that if you possess marijuana, the charge will depend heavily on the circumstances behind the arrest. How much marijuana you carry can completely alter the charge. Here are the penalties that the code provides:

  • If you have 30 grams or less on your person, then you may face a misdemeanor charge. If convicted, you may have to spend 30 days in jail or you may receive a 500-dollar fine.
  • If you have more than 30 grams on your person, then you may face jail time of up to a year and a fine of 5,000 dollars. In addition, you lose your license for six months.
  • If this is your first marijuana arrest, then you may only receive probation instead of a verdict.
  • If you have a second possession charge or if you have multiple offenses, then you may suffer double penalties.
  • In situations where you have more than 30 grams of marijuana on your person at one time, you may face intent to deliver or distribute charges.

The information provided is only for educational purposes in regards to marijuana charges and is not legal advice.